Connect with us

Local motor sport

Watch: Keith Camilleri bags third win in ICC Hillclimb Championships

On Sunday, the Island Car Club organised the third round of the ICC Enemed National Hillclimb Championship.

Once again, a good number of participants competed in various groups and classes, they did so under strict restrictions and guidance by officials due to the Covid 19 pandemic.

Young Dylan Galea was the fastest driver under the age of 25, while Peter Hansen topped the timesheets in the Over 60 category.

Pre-war class was won by Ian Lawson, and Charles Galea was the fastest from all guests. Jonathan Camilleri won the Autocross Class.

Karl Calleja, Chris Tabone and Robert Muscat finished first in Group 3, 4 and 5 in the Street Legal Class.

Roberto Gauci and Jonathan Grech won the Modified and Standard group of the Classics.

Edmond Azzopardi, Etienne Grech, and Chris Aquilina topped Class 2, 3, and 5 of Group 2.

Didier Bugeja won Class 2 of group 3 and was the fastest driver in a Front Wheel Drive while Joseph Cutajar placed first in the Class 3 of Group 4 and was the fastest Rear Wheel car Driver.

On the other hand, David Galea won Class 3 of Group 3 and the fastest driver of a Four-Wheel Drive car. James Dunford prevailed in Class 5 of Group 5. Mauro Portelli and Kenneth Camilleri took the honours in Class 1 and 2 of Group 6.

Ivan Paul Deidun won Class 4 of Group 5 and ended the day as the second fastest driver of the day followed by Darren Camilleri who won Class 4 of Group 6.

Camilleri completed the overall podium.

For the third consecutive time, Keith Camilleri won Group 5 Class 3 and finished the day first overall of all drivers. This is the third round that he won in this championship.

The fourth round of the ICC Enemed National Hillclimb Championship is set to be held on Sunday, October 25at Miżieb, limits of Mellieħa.

Unfortunately, once again this round is to be held without spectators and under other measures due to Covid19.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Local motor sport