Connect with us


National Sailing Championships at Birżebbuġa SC

The Birżebbuġa Sailing Club hosted the National Championships which saw 74 entries.

The Birżebbuġa Sailing Club Freeport have just organised the Malta Sailing Federation’s National Championships last weekend.

The club were awarded the Best Supporting Club Trophy from the MSF with 29 competing boats out of 74 entries. The fleet consisted of Optimist, Laser, Feva and Miracle dinghies.

On Saturday, two races where held in light winds off Delimara in an excellently organised course that set a scenario for tight racing in all the fleets.

On the other hand, three races were held on Sunday and Monday in medium winds at Bengħisa reef.

In the Optimist Class, Jake Mallia  from Birzebbuga Sailing Club was crowned as the new national champion and Helmsman of the Year.Eric Fenech Pace and Benjamin Vassallo placed second and third respectively.

Emily Fenech, also from Birżebbuġa Sailing Club, is the new national championess. She finished ahead of Andrene Azzopardi and Molly Ross.

Timmy Vassallo, Malta Young Sailors Club, topped the Cadet category with Jonas Micallef and Zane Attard placing second and third respectively.

In the Novice category there was all-Malta Young Sailors Club podium with Jack Gabriele finishing ahead of Katie Muscat Frendo and Harry Fairbairn.

Siblings Mattea and Daniel Ciantar, from Birżebbuġa Sailing Club, took the honours in the Feva Class ahead of sisters Francesca and Laura Zammit from the same club. Third placed went to Faye Portanier and Sabrina Pace from the Royal Malta Yacht Club, who were also the first U-17 crew to place in the regatta.

The Laser Class saw very tight racing with a record of 26 lasers racing together in all three classes.

In the Laser Standard, Vishnu Varafanan was first ahead of Jake Farren Price and James Juhasz.

Saul Vassallo, from Malta Young Sailors Club, was the winner in the Laser 4.7 class and also the new holder of the Borg Costanzi Trophy. 

Matthew Flores, also first laser U-16 sailor, and Jean Paul Zahra, from Birżebbuga Sailing Club, completed the podium.

In the women’s category, Mia Busuttil, of the Malta Young Sailors Club, topped the event.

In The Laser Radial Class, Lacey Aquilina, from Birżebbuga Sailing Club, is the national champion.

Alfred Fenech, also from Birżebbuġa Sailing Club, made an impressive comeback from last position in the first day to take second place.

Patrice Pace, from Malta Young Sailors Club, came in third.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Sailing