Connect with us


Sweden announce star-studded squad for Visit Malta Women’s Trophy

Fifth-ranked Sweden announced their squad for the upcoming Visit Malta Women’s Trophy that will be held between February 18 and February 23.

During their training camp in Malta, the Swedes will face Austria at the Hibernians Stadium (kick-off: 15.00) and Mark Gatt’s side on the 23rd at the same ground (kick-off: 14.30).

This tournament will serve Sweden as preparation for the women’s football tournament at next Summer’s Olympic Games, in Tokyo.

Sweden’s squad includes some of the best players in the women’s game.

In fact, coach Peter Gerhardsson has called up a number of players who play in the top leagues across Europe. These include Chelsea trio Zecira Musovic, Jonna Andersson and Magdalena Eriksson, who is the club’s captain.

Real Madrid pair Kosovare Asllani and Sofia Jakobsson are also named in the list. Asllani took centre stage last weekend with a 154-seconds hat-trick in Real’s 3-1 win over Valencia. In fact, her hat-trick is third fastest in the game’s history.

Moreover, Serie A champions Juventus will be represented by Linda Sembrant and Linda Hurtig.

Bundesliga-based players form Sweden’s side as well in Bayern Munich players Hanna Glas and Amanda Ilestedt and Wolfsburg player Fridolina Rolfo.

Long-time serving player Nilla Fischer, formerly of Wolfsburg is also called up alongside captain Caroline Seger.

Malta’s other opponents, Slovakia, have also named their final squad for this tournament.

The Slovak side will be Malta’s first opponents in this tournament on February 18, at the Hibernians Stadium (kick-off: 14.30).

Included in Slovakia’s squad is Maria Korenciova, goalkeeper of Milan.

Meanwhile, Austria have also called up their squad for this tournament where they will play against Sweden and Slovakia.

Among the players called up is goalkeeper Manuela Zinsberger, who is on the books of English giants Arsenal.


Goalkeepers: Jennifer Falk (Goteborg), Hedvig Lindahl (Atletico Madrid), Zecira Musovic (Chelsea).

Defenders: Jonna Andersson (Chelsea), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea), Nilla Fischer (Linkoping), Hanna Glas (Bayern Munich), Amanda Ilestedt (Bayern Munich), Julia Roddar (Goteborg), Josefine Rybrink (Kristianstads) , Linda Sembrant (Juventus).

Midfielders/Forwards: Filippa Angeldal (Goteborg), Kosovare Asllani (Real Madrid), Hanna Bennison (Rosengard), Nathalie Bjorn (Rosengard), Stina Blackstenius (Goteborg), Rebecka Blomqvist (Goteborg), Filippa Curmark (Goteborg), Pauline Hammarlund (Goteborg), Lina Hurtig (Juventus), Sofia Jakobsson (Real Madrid), Rusul Rosa Kafaji (AIK), Hanna Lundkvist (Hammarby), Fridolina Rolfo (Wolfsburg), Johanna Rytting Kaneryd (Hacken), Olivia Schough (Djugardens), Caroline Seger (Rosengard).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Football