Connect with us


Ħamrun Spartans to be crowned as Malta champions on Thursday night

Ħamrun Spartans will tonight be crowned as the Malta champions on Thursday in a ceremony at the Tedesco Stadium.

The Spartans were declared as Malta champions for the eighth time in their history last May when the Malta FA Executive Committee decided to cut short the season due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Leaders Ħamrun Spartans were five points ahead of rivals Hibernians in the standings and 10 more than Gżira United with six matches to go. 

Since then, the Malta Football Association and Ħamrun Spartans were in constant dialogue to find a suitable date to hold the presentation ceremony and an agreement was reached so that the ceremony will be held tonight at the Tedesco Stadium

Unlike last season, when Floriana FC were presented the trophy in their hometown in front of their fans at St Anne Street, this time round the Spartans fans will not be present for the ceremony due to COVID-19 restrictions that ban mass events.

In fact, the ceremony will be held at the Tedesco Stadium and will see the participation of the Ħamrun Spartans first team and members of the technical staff, club committee members and administrators.

The ceremony is expected to be broadcasted live on all three local main TV stations and will start at 8.30pm.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Football