Connect with us

BOV Premier League

Guillaumier named Player of the Year

Matthew Guillaumier presented the Player of the Year award by MFA President Bjorn Vassallo (left). Photo: Domenic Aquilina

Matthew Guillaumier was voted as the Player of the Year for season 2020-21.

The Malta international midfielder played a key role to help the Spartans win their first league title after an absence of 30 years.

This was the first time that Guillaumier has won this prestigious award and he succeeds Gżira United Steve Borg, who won this top accolade for last season.

As expected, Ħamrun Spartans were the biggest protagonists in the awards ceremony as they won no less than three honours with Mark Buttigieg named coach of the Year while Jorge Ailton Soares was named the Best Foreign Player of the Year.

Alex Satariano, who last season was on the books of Sliema Wanderers, was named as the young player of the year.

Satariano impressed for both club and country and his performances have earned him a move to Serie B side Frosinone this summer.

Award winners:

BOV Player of the Year: Matthew Guillaumier (Ħamrun Spartans).

BOV Premier League Coach of the Year: Mark Buttigieg (Ħamrun Spartans).

BOV Foreign Player of the Year: Jorge Ailton Soares (Ħamrun Spartans).

Young Player of the Year: Alexander Satariano (Sliema Wanderers).

BOV Premier League Top Scorer: Kevin Ante Rosero (Sta Lucia FC).

National Amateur League Best Player: Nicholas Schembri (Attard FC).

Futsal Player of the Year: Eduardo Garcia Riano (Swieqi United FC)

BOV National League Top Scorer Group A: Jamie Lee Micallef (Mġarr United).

BOV National League Top Scorer Group B: Timothy Thomas (San Ġwann).

BOV National League Top Scorer Group C: Nicholas Schembri (Attard FC).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in BOV Premier League