Connect with us


Neil Agius nominated for World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year

The World Open Water Swimming Association, the international association dedicated to the organisation, promotion and, recognition of open water swimmers has nominated Maltese swimmer, Neil Agius for the coveted World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year. 

The former Olympic swimmer was nominated for serving as an ocean advocate and co-founder of the ‘Wave of Change’ campaign which raises awareness of plastic pollution in the Maltese sea. 

The WOWSA Awards is an annual public recognition of the world’s open water swimmers. 

Agius is best known for swimming 126.3 km from Italy to Malta through the Strait of Sicily as the longest continuous, unassisted, current-neutral swim in history over 52 hours while creating and promoting the Wave of Change campaign for Malta and Gozo.

The personable anti-pollution activist, who was backed by sponsors Alf Mizzi Foundation, Intersport, and Dr Juice, set a world record in the Mediterranean Sea to raise awareness of plastics pollution of the seas.

The World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year award is an annual award that is given by the World Open Water Swimming Association and meant to honour the individual(s) who best embodies the spirit of open water swimming, possesses the sense of adventure, tenacity and perseverance that open water swimmers are known for, and has most positively influenced the world of open water swimming during the year.

Members of the public can help Neil’s nomination by voting for his award here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 − 6 =


More in Swimming

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com