Connect with us

Horse Racing

Gigant Well and Rally Hans win Premier semifinals

The Sette Giugno Championship for class Premier trotters kicked off on Sunday. Photo: Jonathan Borg

The 23rd meeting of the season consisting of eight races all for trotters was held on Sunday afternoon at the Marsa Racetrack. This programme heralded the start of the Sette Giugno Championship for class Premier trotters on a short distance of 2140m. From the two Premier class semifinals, twelve horses made it to the final stage. These races were won by Dutch Gigant Well and Swedish newcomer Rally Hans. Paul Galea ended the best driver of the day with three wins.

In the first semifinal, Aros Line (Marvic Bugeja) was the fastest horse at first, opening a small lead from Jefferson Dotcom (Rodney Gatt) and Enge Lincoln (Eric Bezzina). However, Bugeja’s trotter started to slow down when the front horse turned to face their final straight. This was reeled in by Gigant Well (Charles Degiorgio) which secured its sixth win of the year from Kaptah (Michael Ellul) and Jefferson Dotcom.

Aros Line had to settle for fourth place from Unstoppable (Paul Galea) and Valentino Strix (Ludvic Ghigo). Gigant Well clocked an average time of 1.13.8” per kilometer. It should be noted that this was Charles Degiorgio’s 400th win in his career in Malta.

Debutante Rally Hans (Marco Refalo) led all the way in the second Premier class semifinal. This Swedish trotter sealed its first win in Malta after sustaining the challenge of Antoine Du Bourg in the final metres. Vincent Horse (Paul Galea) finished third in front of Araw Hoss (Clint Gauci). Eagle B Butcher (Michael Sultana) and Dartagnan Sisu (Charles Camilleri) were the last two trotters which made it to the final stage. Rally Hans did an impressive average time of 1.13.5” per kilometer.   

Another meeting at the Marsa Racetrack will be held on Friday evening. The first race should start at 6.30pm.

Sunday’s winners

Race 1. Class Copper. Dist – 2140m. 1. Sabacan Savage (Warren Galea) – 1.17”

Race 2. Class Bronze. Dist – 2140m. 1. Gentleman De Larcy (Anton Cassar) – 1.17.3”

Race 3. Class Bronze. Dist – 2140m. 1. Waikiki Man (Mario Falzon) – 1.17.1”

Race 4. Class Silver. Dist – 2140m. 1. Asko Giant (Paul Galea) – 1.15.6”

Race 5. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Liam Dana (Paul Galea) – 1.16.3”

Race 6. Semifinal Sette Giugno Cup. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Gigant Well (Charles Degiorgio) – 1.13.8”

Race 7. Semifinal Sette Giugno Cup. Class Premier. Dist – 2140m. 1. Rally Hans (Marco Refalo) – 1.13.5”

Race 8. Class Gold. Dist – 2140m. 1. Five O’Clock (Paul Galea) – 1.15.2”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fourteen − 3 =


More in Horse Racing

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com