Connect with us


Chelsea Women newcomer Harder included in Denmark squad for Malta qualifier

Mark Gatt’s team will host Danes in upcoming Women’s Euro 2022 qualifier on September 22

Chelsea women new signing Pernille Harder will be starring in Denmark’s team when the Scandinavians take on Malta in the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 qualifier on September 22, at the Centenary Stadium (kick-off: 18.30).

Harder, 27, swapped Wolfsburg with Chelsea a couple of days after she was on the losing side in the 2019/2020 UEFA Women’s Champions League final, as the German side succumbed to a 3-1 defeat at the hands of seven-time European winners Lyon.

Denmark coach Lars Sondergaard included also Everton women duo Rikke Sevecke and Nicoline Sorensen, and Stine Larsen who moved from Fleury of France to England’s Aston Villa this summer.

Nadia Nadim of Paris Saint-Germain, who renewed her stay for another year in the French capital earlier this year, has also been called up joined by fellow PSG teammate Signe Bruun who returns to the national team after a long absence having been sidelined due to an injury.

In addition, there will be also Italy-based Sofie Pedersen who plays with Malta women Nicole Sciberras at Juventus, Caroline Moller, who joined Inter prior to the 2020/2021 campaign and Frederikke Thogersen of Fiorentina.

Denmark face an away trip Bosnia-Herzegovina on September 17 in Zenica, before heading to Malta for their second qualifier as they look to keep track of group leaders Italy.

The Nordic side are currently second on 15 points after five games, with Italy leading Group B on 18 points but having played six matches.

Denmark and Italy will square off in the final two group qualifiers, on October 27 on Italian soil before taking on each other on December 1, in Viborg.

Malta played Denmark in their Women’s Euro 2022 qualifications opener back in August, with the 16th-ranked nation securing an 8-0 win in Viborg.

Denmark squad:

Katherine Abel (Brondby); Kathrine Larsen (Djugardens, Sweden); Lene Christensen (KoldingQ); Rikke Sevecke (Everton, England), Stine Ballisager (Valerenga, Norway); Sara Thrige (Fortuna Hjorring); Simone Boye (Bayern Munich, Germany); Katrine Veje (Rosengard, Sweden); Frederikke Thogersen (Fiorentina, Italy); Sofie Svava (Rosengard, Sweden); Janni Thomsen (Valerenga, Norway); Sofie Pedersen (Juventus, Italy); Emma Snerle (Fortuna Hjorring); Nanna Christiansen (Brondby); Rikke Madsen (Valerenga, Norway); Stanne Troelsgaard (Rosengard, Sweden); Olivia Holdt (VSK Aarhus); Signe Bruun (PSG, France); Stine Larsen (Aston Villa, England); Nicoline Sorensen (Everton, England); Pernille Harder (Chelsea, England); Nadia Nadim (PSG, France); Caroline Moller (Inter, Italy).


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Football