Connect with us


Haley Bugeja nominated for prestigious AIC’s Serie A Team of the Year award

Malta women’s national team player Haley Bugeja is one of the nominees for the 2020/2021 Serie A Team of the Year award presented by the Italian Footballers Association (AIC).

The prestigious Gran Galà del Calcio AIC awards night will be held on March 17 and Bugeja is one of the women stars that are shortlisted to form the 2020/2021 women’s Serie A best XI.

The former Mġarr United player is the only Sassuolo player included the list and she is joined by Juventus duo Barbara Bonansea and Cristiana Girelli, Annamaria Serturini of Roma, Benedetta Glionna who is currently on the books of Roma but last season was at Empoli and former Milan captain Valentina Giacinti – now at Fiorentina – in the attacking department.

During the 2020/2021 Serie A season, which was Bugeja’s maiden campaign as a professional football player, the Maltese player scored 12 goals which propelled her at top of Sassuolo’s scoring charts.

Ever since 1997, the AIC have been handing awards to the best players, coaches and referees from the men’s Serie A championship.

Since 2018/2019, the AIC have included the women’s game as well and this year’s edition will be third straight time that will see female players awarded for their previous campaign.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three × 5 =


More in Football

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com